"Wonderful Stay"

June 20th 2018, Tammi D, Illinois, United States
My sister and I had a great experience staying at Hotel Christian IV. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. There was not enough they could do for us.

We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

"Wonderful hotel"

June 17th 2018, lakelorain
Loved this hotel. Great location, near Rosenborg Castle and close to most tourist areas and many restaurants. 3 grocery stores nearby.

Old boutique style hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast included as well as 24 hour pastries, cookies, coffee and tea in breakfast area. 
Average size rooms with large windows that open in various directions. 
Only negatiives were no air conditioning(typical for Copenhagen) and noisy restaurant next door. Noise seemed to subside around 9:30. I would definitely stay there again.

"Close to Castles!"

June 16th 2018, Rocky C
Large room, comfortable bed, great staff, good breakfast and pastries through out the day. No A/C so staff provided a fan but was only in the room at night so not too bad.

Close to two castles and restaurants.

"Pre-cruise Stay"

June 13th 2018, ibaol, California, United States
This is not a fancy hotel but it is more than adequate for a few days. There is no air conditioning so we had to keep windows open. Our room was in the back so street noise was not a problem but there was some noise from construction on the building next door.

It is in an excellent location to restaurants, cruise port, Nyhavn, Rosenburg Castle and Park. The staff was welcoming and professional. Breakfast was plentiful and very good. The 24 hour coffee, tea and Danish pastries was also an excellent addition. We enjoyed our stay.

"Pre-Cruise Hotel, Nice Stay"

June 8th 2018, BermudaBoundGirl, New York, United States
Rooms: I found the bed and pillows to be comfortable. Enjoyed having a reading light. We had trouble sleeping due to lack of air conditioning. The windows do open wide but there are no screens so we did have a couple critters fly in and there was a lot of pollen in the air.

Thankfully I don't have allergies. It may or may not be common for hotels to forego air conditioning because in general Denmark is cool but I don't think I gave it a thought when I was trying to find a hotel. I will from now on because I do have trouble sleeping in a warm room. Also there is a lot of construction in the city so that woke us up early with the window being open.
Safe: There is no safe in the room. This is the real reason I withheld 1 star. It really bothered me that there was no safe. They do offer a safe in their downstairs office. They give you the key. You can put the contents in yourself. Supposedly you are the only one with a key. But how could I be sure of that really? I did make use of it. None of my valuables went missing but still I had an uneasy feeling over it pretty much the entire 4 days we were there.
Cruise terminal: I understand you can take a bus to the cruise terminal. We opted for a cab. It was probably a 10 to 12 minute ride. I believe it was about 240 kroner. Ask the hotel clerk. They have a pretty good idea and they are very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast room: They have a spacious breakfast room. The only eggs you can get are soft boiled. It would have been nice if they also had hard boiled for people like me who hate runny yolks. I asked the girl if I could get a hard-boiled egg and she said, "No." There are plenty of other offerings. Danish, croissants, toast & other breads, yogurt, cereals, ham, salami, cheeses and fruit. The best thing is they keep coffee, tea, water and some juices out 24/7 which is so great. This was the best part about this hotel. I believe everyone who stays here really appreciates this amenity. They also set out a few goodies to snack on. Very nice!
General Location: Just a block from the Rosenborg Castle. Just a couple blocks in the other direction you can get a bus which take you to most other attractions. Just ask the front desk which bus you need and which way it runs. The first one way street runs toward Trivoli Gardens and Amalienborg Palace. Near the palace are plenty of places to eat and you can catch a canal tour there. You can pay your bus fare to the driver. We actually went up the the 2nd one way street and got on in the wrong direction but just got off, crossed the street and re-boarded. That's when we found out the bus ticket is good for one hour. So keep your receipt. You can also walk to NyHavn which is a festive area along the water where everyone goes to drink, eat and people watch.
Andy's Bar: If you want a casual, friendly, neighborhood bar take a right out the door and a right at the first street. Walk a few blocks until the street dead ends and you can see Andy's Bar from that corner. Atmosphere turns to party central late night which is not for me but my friends enjoyed it. I believe it's what some people might call a dive bar. It was fun and the bartenders were so nice and friendly. 
We definitely recommend Christian IV hotel, especially for location and the 24/7 refreshments.

"close to cruise port and public transport"

June 7th 2018, Rosalove7, Illinois, United States
We decided to stay after reading reviews on Tripadvisor reviews because of the location close to the cruise ships and easy to get to through public transportation.

We took the metro from the airport to Kongens Nytorv metro stop its about a 15 mins ride from the airport and another 10 mins walk to the hotel. Note there are cobble stones on the entire way so you know hard to have luagge with wheels seen peoples break off. We arrived and got checked in right to our room. The key is very heavy. I ncluded a picture.The elevator is tiny I say a one person even though says 2. The room was a bit small but the bathroom was huge and the shower very hot. The location is wonderful very close to Nyhavn 13 min walk, and a 5 min walk to Rosenborg Palace. I enjoyed the juice and tea in the evening. The only issue I had was there a bar across the street and people were shouting til 3am so I had a hard time sleeping. Breakfast was fantastic in the morning fresh breads, chesses, meats, veggies, fruits, pastries, and jelly's, and jucie's and coffee. Wifi was fantastic and worked great. In the morning before our cruise Ann stored our luggage so we could check out Rosenberg castle and helped us to the area of the bus. We caught the #26 bus to Osterport st and transfer to #27 bus to the cruise port. 5 min walk from the hotel to catch the bus to the cruise port. Wonderful stay.

"Great stay in Copenhagen"

June 7th 2018, Eric M
The location was perfect and the staff were gracious and helpful in responding to our various questions and requests. Breakfast was delicious and intimate and beverages and snacks always available.

Will stay here again when we return!

"Clean, comfortable rooms, delicious 24/7 pastries, and a friendly staff."

June 3rd 2018, TravelFabulous, Colorado, United States
We hit the jackpot with this hotel. The location was perfect, steps from the park, close enough to the major attractions in the city, but far away from the noise. It was a quick walk from the train we took into the city from the airport.

We could not believe how quiet the neighborhood was, well at least for most of our stay. One morning there was some construction noise from the road below. We had a room in the rear of the hotel and were pleasantly surprised to find a large courtyard out back, rather than a building right next to us. The large windows let in lots of light. It was lovely.
The room was clean, and large enough for our family of three. We had a bed for two plus a rollaway bed for our child, which was quite comfortable. The staff was always friendly, a lady working at the breakfast area went so far as to bring our young son some trucks to play with one morning at breakfast. That made his day and was such a nice gesture. The best part of our stay were the complimentary pastries, tea, and coffee that were available 24/7. It sounds like a small thing, but it really hit the spot when coming in for a break after sightseeing, or finding ourselves awake late at night with jet lag.
Next time we visit Copenhagen I will not look for a different hotel. I don't think it could get any better than this! We cannot wait to return.

"Great location. Good service. Wonderful breakfast."

June 2nd 2018, Ross B, Melbourne, Australia
The hotel is ideally situated close to everything in central Copenhagen. Room was small and a bit noisy (1st floor) but comfortable bed. Great shower. The hotel has a really good continental breakfast with plenty of choice which will set you up for the day.

The breakfast area is avIlable all day with free coffee/tea and a biscuit which is really nice to come back to and relax (which you w8ll need after walking around the city). A short walk to the mermaid and the changing of the guard. If you go early there is no crowd. We went at 7:00 (no one at the mermaid) and then to see the changing of the guard at 8:00 to be 2 of 7 people watching! An hour walk and back to the wonderful breakfast! Wo7ld highly recommend this hotel.

"Great hotel in a perfect location"

May 29th 2018, Mark C, Great Britain
Stayed at the hotel over the weekend and must say it was a cracking find by my brother who lives in Denmark. Close to the centre and all you need to see. The breakfast was very good and was a great start to the day.

Free all day coffee was brilliant after a long day of walking. The noise from the building work on the road outside started a bit too early, but not the fault of the hotel. Came back on Sunday night to have no lights working in the room, but it was sorted in 10 minutes by Silas. Would definitely recommend a stay in this hotel.

"Great Location, Clean and Comfortable Accommodation and Friendly Professional Staff"

May 29th 2018, DCN4, Northern Ireland
We (my husband, myself and our 6 year old daughter) stayed here for 3 nights. We had stayed in Hotel Rye (see separate review) for 2 nights previously as Hotel Christian IV was booked.

So we arrived here on Sunday morning around 10am, left our luggage in (which was kept safely for us) and headed out for the day. The hotel was very busy and the breakfast looked lovely (which it was). You basically walk in the front door (toilet to the left which was very handy), the reception is in front and the dining area to the right.
As previous reviewers have commented, this is a gem of a hotel. It was very clean, comfortable, with a safe, good wifi and English speaking tv channels and the staff were so friendly and professional which made it a great stay. I would particularly mention the young man with a beard on reception (sorry I didn’t see his name badge) and Wikkee in the breakfast room as giving excellent customer service. All the staff were lovely but we had most interaction with these 2 staff members, and they were super helpful. Wikkee was especially kind to our daughter, presenting her with a swan apple, which she was just amazed at and we were very touched she took the time to do this and to chat to our daughter. As well as the lovely fresh fruit, breads, cheese etc for breakfast, it was great to get tea/coffee/hot chocolate/water/milk/juice and biscuits/pastry at any time and we also brought in some food to eat in the dining room (and also our room). There was a nice pizza place just down the road from us and plenty of supermarkets nearby. The lift is very tiny – my daughter loved it as it is all mirrored and she loved seeing loads of images of herself and her daddy. I took the stairs as it was just a little bit too claustrophobic for me and we were only 2 floors up anyway. You could put your luggage in it and take the stairs if you didn’t want to get in.
The location of this hotel is great. It’s close enough to everywhere so that you can walk or get a bus or train (it’s about a 10/15 minute walk to Norreport station which got us to the airport in about 20/25 mins) but situated in a quiet area. We were in a second floor room above the dining area so when we had the windows open (as it was quite hot during May) there was a little bit of street noise and noise from the building works in the morning (as you can see from other reviews), but this was a minor issue for us. 
So for our holiday we did the following – we had fab weather, sunny the whole time:
Friday from 6-7 We walked around Faellaedpark (which was near our first hotel), which is really quite a large park, and it was lovely to see everyone eating picnics, having barbecues, and just relaxing in the evening sunshine. And there doesn’t appear to be a shortage of free public toilets anywhere in Copenhagen, most of which are pretty clean.
Saturday – Copenhagen Zoo (allow 3-4 hours), back for some pastries from Leckerbaer and then off to see the little mermaid and a short walk around the centre/Nyhavn (with a tired 6 year old it was brief).
Sunday – moved hotels, then Amusement park day starting with Bakken and Tivoli in the evening
Monday – Rosenburg Castle to see the crown jewels, changing of the guard at Amalienborg (12-12.30), Marble Church, Boat Tour (2.30 – 3.30) and then finished the day off with a trip to Den Blau Planet
Tuesday – Fredericksberg (the one at Hillerod), the round tower on the way back from Norreport station to our hotel (the second one) and then a lovely wander around Nyhavn. 
Wednesday - Brief walk around the shops then off to the airport
We bought Copenhagen Cards and definitely found this to be a good decision. It was great not to worry about buying tickets on transport or paying in to the attractions. Definitely a good saving. 
We had such a good time in Copenhagen we would really like to go back, perhaps in autumn or near the Christmas markets time. We would definitely recommend and stay again in Hotel Christian IV because of the location, the facilities (comfortable rooms and great breakfast) and of course, the staff.

"Fabulous, family friendly hotel. Centrally based for all the sites."

May 28th 2018, X1882XOannah, Great Britain
Have just got back from a 3 night stay in this lovely little hotel. Room was clean and comfortable with a huge bed and plenty of room for our young daughter to have a bed of her own too.

Breakfast is amazing with a vast selection of breads, pastries, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit and the most delicious soft boiled eggs. Catering for our coeliac daughter was not a problem and provision of gluten free rolls were readily available. Tea, coffee and biscuits are available free all day in the breakfast area which was very welcome after a long day out. Friendly staff and nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend and look forward to staying again sometime soon.

"Great little hotel in a great location"

May 27th 2018, GarinPerth_Australia, Perth, Australia
Great location walked essentially everywhere. Little lift is interesting on arrival. Good selection for breakfast and breakfast runs from 7-10am.

Unfortunately there was a bit of noise from the building works happening outside the hotel, but not the hotels fault. The double glazed windows kept it the most of the time and it didn’t interrupt our sleep. Our room 16 was a good size, bed was comfy with the usual lump you get when two mattresses are pushed together to make a double/king/queen. Bathroom was good, with a walk-in shower (no bath) and was probably the best shower we had on our European holiday)

"Great 3-star hotel"

May 26th 2018, Catharina S, Belgium
The hotel has an excellent location in a quiet street close to everything. Very nice and helpful staff. Rather spacey room although small bathroom. Good breakfast.

Worthwhile - competes with 4-star hotels.

"Location, location, location!"

May 25th 2018, Erin F
Hotel Christian IV was a great place to stay for one night in Copenhagen! From the airport, I took about a 30 minute taxi ride to Hotel Christian IV. I arrived around 6pm and the staff was extremely friendly upon check-in.

My first impression was that this is a very small hotel, and my room reassured that. I had a little larger than a twin bed with little space around it, but the bathroom was very spacious. No mini bar, fridge, shampoo/conditioner and I could not find air conditioning. None if this really mattered to me since I was only there for one night and had my own shampoo/conditioner. I stayed in the hotel at night, but explored the area first thing the next morning before my flight. Once I started walking, there were so many shops, grocery store and restaurant options in the area. If I had needed a meal it would have been difficult to choose! I walked to Nyhavn using "Maps" on my iPhone. It was about a 10 minute walk and I could have stayed there for hours! Nyhavn was a beautiful area in a canal and the walk was great. I passed through a small garden and Amalienborg, which come to find out is the home of the Danish royal family. I wish I had been hungry as there were so many restaurants in the area. It was a great walk around Copenhagen and stay at Hotel Christian IV! I would recommend this for short stays.

"Recent Stay at Hotel Christian IV"

May 23rd 2018, BobROssining, United States
My wife and I just returned from a three-night stay at the Hotel Christian IV in Copenhagen, which we had booked on our own online as a quick visit following a tour of Iceland.

We found the hotel to be as advertised: a small property, very well situated on a generally quiet street away from some of the tourist crowds and noise in Nyhavn, yet within easy walking distance to those more tourist areas. We also liked its very close proximity to the park outside Rosenborg Palace and to the Botanic Garden. We took the opportunity to walk around both on our own when we were not on organized tours of the city that we had purchased with help of the hotel staff. Breakfasts at the hotel provided a good assortment of cold options, and all the staff we met were both friendly and knowledgeable about restaurants to try and local attractions to consider visiting. On the minus side, my wife's and my room faced the street and there was some street noise at night as people walked by talking or left the bar across the street. This encouraged us to keep our windows shut, which then left the room quiet but rather warmer than we would liked. This and the fact that the place is a bit old fashioned are the reasons we rated the hotel as good, but not excellent. That said, we thought the price charged by the hotel was a very good bargain, especially given Copenhagen hotels very high prices and the fact that many hotels require a nonrefundable deposit when booking. The Hotel Christian IV did not require such a deposit, something we very much appreciated, especially when booking several months ahead of time.

"Homely"

May 22nd 2018, FizzyJazzle, Luxembourg
+ points: Good location, within walking distance of the centre and tourist attractions, with restaurants in the immediate vicinity; Clean; Lots of natural light in the room and bathroom;

Large windowsill in bathroom for storing toiletries;
Efficient and friendly staff;
Good choice at breakfast, although I would have appreciated more hot food and more variety over 3 days;
Tea, coffee, biscuits and fruit was made available during the day;
Cosy lounge/dining area;
Good WiFi.
- points:
I arrived on an early morning flight and would really have appreciated getting into the room a bit earlier to freshen up but was told it couldnt be ready before 2pm. At least I was able to leave my luggage;
Unfortunately building works were going on in the street and I was woken at 7.30 one morning and 5.30 on another;
The room was compact - the single bed was pushed against a wall, which made it feel rather cramped, and there was a tiny shelf to serve as a night table (just enough room for a phone); 
Small shower - and mid-shower on the first morning I suddenly had no hot water (the staff couldn't find out what the problem was; happily it didn't reoccur);
My towels were a bit worn (and there was no shower mat when stepping out of the shower);
No safe in the room;
Not much storage space for case and clothes.

I have never paid so much per night in ANY hotel, let alone a 3-star, but apparently, compared with other hotels in Copenhagen, this was good value for money. I would therefore recommend it and stay there again (perhaps in a room at the back the next time!)

"Great location and nice hotel....very happy"

May 22nd 2018, Tare U, Great Britain
We stayed 2 nights at this hotel, This hotel is very conveniently located, a 10-minute walk from Konigs Nyborg metro station, the main shopping streets and Nyhavn cafes.

Although it is central, the rooms, especially at the back of the hotel, are very quiet for a city centre. The staff are very helpful and the breakfast buffet is excellent. I am gluten and lactose intolerance. This was made aware of before we arrived at the hotel and what lovely service we received. They provide me with gluten free porridge and bread and almond milk which in my opinion was a very nice touch. Every morning a lovely lady called Emie would help assist me with my breakfast, make sure I got everything I needed and was very friendly, helpful and went out of her way to make sure I was happy and satisfied. She even provided me with berries and nuts as a sweet treat to go with my porridge. Thank you very much, I really appreciate all your help and effort.
The free wireless internet access worked very well. Tea, coffee, water, juice, pastries and cookies was available all day in the breakfast area, adjacent to a small lounge. All the city centre attractions were within easy reach of the hotel, and it was a very good base for a visit to Copenhagen. . The desk clerks gave us directions to where ever we wanted to go, including wonderful restaurants for dinner. The staff could not have been nicer or more friendly. Rooms are a bit small and dated, but they are clean and made up daily. It was well worth the price and if we ever get back to Copenhagen, we will definitely stay there again.

"Nice hotel. Good breakfast and excellent location"

May 18th 2018, 140AngelaL, Great Britain
We have just returned home from our holiday staying at this hotel. Very polite staff and excellent breakfast with a good choice of food. We really enjoyed the boiled eggs nicest I have had in a hotel.

The hotel was in an excellent location close to all the points of interest.The room was very clean although a slightly musty smell and very small. Wi-fi was good and also lovely to have tea coffee and biscuits and pastries from morning till night which we were grateful for. The only thing was we were on a street side room and there was noisy works starting at 5.30 in the morning. The hotel explained that it was out of their hands but still we felt a bit annoyed some mornings as it woke us up. Price was quite high compared what we have paid for in other places but there again Copenhagen seemed expensive. We only stayed four nights. Overall were very happy with our stay.

"Excellent"

May 18th 2018, John W, Perth, Australia
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this property. As some one else mentioned it is clean, quiet & lovely. Well situated for walking to most of the attractions and we even walked as far as Tivoli without a problem.

Breakfast was very good and it's nice to come back from a days outing to be greeted by coffee and pastries being available in the morning.
Staff were very attentive to our needs and seemed to make a special effort to have breakfast available for us when we had an early departure.

"Clean, quiet, lovely hotel"

May 5th 2018, CountVizzini, Sicily, Italy
Hotel Christian IV is ideally located in a quiet yet central area within short walking distance of parks, metro/s-train and restaurants.

The room was perfectly clean and well-maintained, with lots of natural light and a good working space. Breakfast was included and had great variety of breads, pastries and fruits, as well as eggs. It was nice to enjoy a complimentary coffee and sweet in the afternoons. For sleep quality, cleanliness, professionalism, and price, Hotel Christian IV is an excellent choice.

"Very quaint little hotel"

May 5th 2018, Stephen G, Great Britain
Let me start by saying the staff, service, location & breakfast were awesome.

The room it’s self if quite basic with quirky furniture - reminded me of visiting my grannie in the 80’s - that said it was super clean and the bed was super comfy.

"Great location and breakfast, charming Hotel"

May 1st 2018, Fabian F
The Hotel is placed in great location in Downtown Copenhagen next to Rosenborg Castle park. The offer 24 h free water, coffee and orange juice in the lobby as well as danish cookies, great service!

The breakfast offers a big variety of fresh baked breads and fresh fruits as well as eggs, sweet breads and juices. We were absolutely positively surprised!
We had a small double room which was totally ok for our city trip. A soft bed (queen size) and TV, the bad was also big enough for two people showering at the same time.
We rented bikes at the hotel which were in perfect condition.
Overall we can say that this is one of the best value Hotels in downtown Copenhagen with great service.

"Nicely located, great breakfasts"

April 30th 2018, LeFrondeur, Florida, United States
The rooms are small, and the elevator a bit small, but you can use the stairs if you are at all claustrophobic. The best part of staying at this hotel is the breakfasts, which are outstanding.

Internet access is a bit spotty, if that is important to you.

"Great staff, excellent location"

April 29th 2018, MG00nergirl1, Great Britain
Excellent location, helpful staff, great breakfast and we appreciated the drinks and biscuits available throughout the day.

The beds were comfy though the bathrooms were a little tired and the lift has seen better days. A good hotel for a weekend away with friends.

"Very friendly"

April 28th 2018, michelle m, Great Britain
Great little hotel in perfect city centre location but quiet road near beautiful park and botanical garden.

Everything is close by including supermarket. Drinks and pastries/ biscuits free of charge day and night and staff are really friendly and helpful. Room was quaint and in style with age of the building. Good free WiFi too!

"As always a pleasent stay"

April 28th 2018, Martin_Thomsen, Middelfart, Denmark
Hotel Christian IV is a great little hotel in an amazing location in the middle of the city.The gentleman at check-in was very aware and courteous, and I love the rooms and breakfast.

WiFi is excellent and free and parking is close by in e.g. a parking garage.

"Very Welcoming"

April 25th 2018, Bewhi, Great Britain
We had a lovely time at Hotel Christian IV on our first holiday as a family. The staff were all very welcoming and keen to help in any way they could.

The ladies at breakfast were particularly lovely, helping to entertain our 4 month old and making sure he was having a nice holiday as well. 
The rooms were clean and comfortable and personally, we really liked that the hotel were committed to reducing their environmental impact by choosing eco friendly toiletries. 
The location is fantastic, on a quiet street right next to the park and a short walk from everywhere. No public transport required!
We purposely chose a smaller, independent hotel rather than a large chain and I'm so glad we did. Next time we come to Copenhagen, we will definitely be returning!
On a side note, the cobbled streets are perfect for getting the baby to sleep in his pram!

"Nice hotel"

April 21st 2018, James B, Great Britain
We stayed in April 2018 for business . The hotel has is in a great location in the city. The WiFi is excellent and free and the breakfast is very good. I have to say the staff are very very good.

Great business hotel.

"Great Little Hotel in a Great Location"

April 17th 2018, Nicholas L, Florida, United States
Hotel Christian IV is a great little hotel in an amazing location.The staff was very courteous at checkin and we helped ourselves to some free coffee and pastry.

Rosenburg castle is pretty much right outside the door, 1/4 block away. Nyhavn is 5-10 min walk and Little Mermaid is 15-20 min walk. Tivoli was about 30 nub walk. It was an easy 30 min metro trip for the airport. 
The room was comfortable and had great decor. 
The breakfast was the best free breakfast I've had at a hotel, period. They have an assortment of high quality danish pastries, bread, butter, nutella, an assortment of fruit, juices, coffee, tea, and much more. 
The wifi was free and worked great.
The only complaint I have is that our room was next to the lift, which made a moderately loud eerie noise which woke us during the night. Despite that I'm more than happy with my stay and would stay again.

"Comfort and convenience"

April 16th 2018, nosro, Great Britain
Just returned from a three night break in Copenhagen where we stayed at Hotel Christian IV. We stayed in a Comfort Double room which was spacious and very comfortable.

From arriving to leaving we felt very welcome and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The included breakfast offered lots of choice and set us up for the day's sightseeing. All the major city centre tourist attractions are within easy walking distance of the hotel and at the end of a tiring day there are numerous restaurants and bars close by. There is still so much we didn't have time to see that we hope to return to Copenhagen in the future and wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

"City break"

April 14th 2018, Bev D
We stayed in this hotel for four nights, we arrived late on the first night as we had flight delays but nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They made us very welcome.

Breakfast was good and the quality of ingredients was high. Staff were very helpful with restaurant recommendations and directions. We walked most places but the public transport was good. I would recommend buying a Copenhagen Card in advance, we saved a lot of money by not paying entrance fees and transport fares.

"Good value and well situated"

April 13th 2018, Simon P, Great Britain
We stayed here for three nights on a short city break. It's a great location (we walked everywhere - but public transport is very good) within easy reach of Nyhavn, The Botanical Gardens, the main art gallery and much more.

The hotel staff are really helpful and friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. One excellent feature (especially in a place when you can pay nine quid for two coffees) is the fact that free coffee and pastries are available all day in the dining room - so you can pop back at any time of day. I'd definitely stay here again. (Oh yes, forgot to mention the excellent breakfast)

"Good location, good value, excellent value"

April 10th 2018, Hugh T
Chose this hotel because I needed a hotel in this area. It was fairly quiet for being so close to so many highlights. Easy access to buses, grocery stores, restaurants, and shops.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, basic, but comfortable. The breakfast buffet was fresh, diverse and delicious. The showed helpful flexibility with our few extra requests. Would definitely stay here again.

"Wonderful Copenhagen! Nice central hotel"

April 10th 2018, VWAlonso, Great Britain
My eldest daughter and I stayed at this nice central hotel in March whilst it was snowy. We caught the metro from the airport to Kongens Nytorv station, used the lift up to the pavement and walked to Hotel Christian IV.

Tip: Make sure you pick up a detailed street map from the hotel as you check-in. The staff on reception were very welcoming and we were very pleased to be offered free hot drinks, Danish pastries or biscuits and to sit in the warm and nicely furnished guest lounge. Our room was on the 5th floor and had a view of the courtyard. We used the small lift which was very quaint. The beds were comfortable and the room cosy. The bathroom was on the small side though very clean and the shower was great. We could not fault the breakfast especially the variety of breads, pastries, ham, cheese, eggs, fruit and jams on offer at the buffet. It was a nice touch having individual coffee pots for each table. We also appreciated the hot drinks and pastries made available during the day and evening and got into the habit of not having dessert after our evening meal but rather choosing to return to the hotel for a cup of hot chocolate and delicious pastry! 
It was easy to walk to the main attractions from the hotel. Our two favourites of our 4-day trip was the boat tour from Nyhavn (which is so lovely with its coloured houses, restaurants and harbour views). Tip: try the public toilets just to the right of the boat tour kiosk, which are amazingly clean and free! We loved watching the Changing of the Guard at the Royal Palace with the soldiers' boots scrunching in the snow! Unforgettable. We also loved the rooftop café in the Illum department store and walking up the spiral pathway to the top of the Round Tower. There are plenty of places to eat in Copenhagen and we spent time in cosy local cafes drinking coffee or eating lunch. It was really nice as the Danish tend to eat early in the evenings and the restaurants near to our hotel were absolutely packed with laughing and smiling Danes. We were welcomed and shown to a table which we shared with chattering people, most of whom spoke English. Overall, we would definitely recommend this hotel because of its location and friendly staff, plus the breakfast! Copenhagen is a fab city with air that is fresh and the water is so clean. Tip: You can drink the tap water.

"Location, location, location"

April 7th 2018, dsmith, United States
Stayed for three nights while visiting our daughter who was studying abroad in Copenhagen. The location was very good and while the closest metro was a 9 minute walk, there were many bus stops nearby and the beautiful Kings garden was a stones throw away.

The property is small and older but well maintained. We were greeted and offered a complimentary drink and told that coffee and tea were always available in the dining room just off the lobby. That was a nice touch. There is a tiny elevator to take your bags up but we never had a problem with it and for the most part, used the stairs anyway. The room itself was adequate. It was small, especially with a second bed for my daughter who stayed with us a few nights. But it was more than a cot and very comfortable she told me. Our bed was comfortable and for a change not two twin beds pushed together. We were happy to find out that we could open the window and let in fresh air and the street was quiet enough on a Saturday night that we had a good nights sleep! The bathroom was small and it was huge bonus that they constantly supplied us with washcloths something you find in short supply at most European hotels. I appreciated the eco friendly all in one soap that you are supposed to use as soap, shampoo and conditioner but would have like some moisturizer to supplement the limited products. We noticed we were just about out of the soap and stopped by the front desk to ask for it and it was promptly taken care of. The front desk was helpful in arranging a taxi to the airport on our last morning. The entire staff seemed very competent. So while it was not a upscale hotel , it was a good value for the money and a wonderful place to get a good nights sleep while we explored the city and were busy all day long!!

"Decent hotel in a good central area"

April 4th 2018, hoopsHarwich, Great Britain
The location is really good. 10 min walk from Kongens Nytorv metro station so therefore 10 min walk from Nyhavn. Quiet street.

Basic hotel room. Of course expensive because of it being in Denmark but pretty reasonable compared to other similar hotels. The breakfast is good, and the fact that residents can have free coffee and pastries all day and night is great. Can leave your cases after check out if you have time for extra exploring before going home. This is our 2nd stay.

 

"Copenhagen"

March 26th 2018, jim r
Location was very good. Easy walk to several sightseeing places and resturants. Staff was very welcoming and pleasant. Several beverages were avaliable in lobby 24/7.

No parking on site however parking was avaliable in the local area.

"Good hotel, perfect location"

March 26th 2018, roser t
I stayed at this hotel with my husband for 2 nights. The hotel is very simple but it is charming and well kept. The location is perfect, walking distance from the city centre, the Rosenborg park and Palace and the train station.

Guests are welcome to use the breakfast room to have complementary coffee, I though this was a very nice detail. Breakfast was good and sufficient. I really recommend trying the Danish bread and pastries, delicious! 
My room was really small, that would be my only complaint, but the bed was nice and confortable and we slept very well.
It is not a cheap hotel, but nothing is cheap in Denmark, it is reasonably price if you compare with the rest of prices in the country. I definitely recommend this hotel and a visit to Copenhaghen.

"hotel christian iv"

March 20th 2018, tricia04_10, Cardiff, Great Britain
Lovely hotel, very comfortable, staff friendly and helpful, would recommend this hotel, close to the city centre and train station. Good choice for breakfast. Overall a good hotel.

Close to supoermarket.

"Lovely hotel"

March 12th 2018, Linda J, Great Britain
We was so glad we chose this hotel, we had a superior room and the bed was very comfy and the room was warm , the staff are friendly and helpful.

The hotel is in a good location about a ten minute walk to the harbour.
Breakfast was good with a choice of breads, meats, egg, cheese fruit and cereals.
We would most definitely return to this hotel.

"Quiet, friendly hotel in ideal location."

March 4th 2018, Kay W
My son and I stayed at this lovely, little hotel for two nights last week. It's right in the middle of Copenhagen, but situated on a quiet street. The staff were friendly and helpful, and our rooms were small, but clean, warm and comfortable.

Breakfast was of an excellent quality and it was great to be able to return to the hotel late afternoon and enjoy complimentary hot drinks and pastries. We walked from the hotel to most of the parts of the city we wished to visit, and there was a great range of cafes and restaurants in the neighbourhood. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

"Overall an excellent stay and a highly recommended hotel. It does what it does very well."

February 15th 2018, MASWScreenwriter, London, Great Britain
This is a relatively small hotel located in a quiet side street within walking distance of all the major attractions of Copenhagen. It is not a grand or luxury hotel, but what it does it does very well.

I stayed in February with my wife and three year old son. Check-in was quick and efficient, and we were given a reassuringly old-fashioned key, of the type that not many hotels use these days. The one lift was a little small but worked perfectly well. It was only on rare occasions during our week's stay that we had to wait very long for this to arrive. 
Our room had a double bed and a sofa bed, with a bathroom equipped with a shower/wet room. This was adequate for our purposes. I would have liked more storage space in terms of shelving in the bathroom, there would have been room for this. Control and supply of hot and cold water was good. It was particularly cold during our stay, even for Denmark, and the room temperature was always adequate. On one occasion when it was a little cool we discovered that the radiator had a thermostatic valve and turning that up a little solved the problem. The double bed and sofa bed were very comfortable. 
Breakfast was simple but of very high quality. On our first morning the waitress carved a duck from an apple for our son. Sadly he did not eat it but it was a thing of beauty and a completely unexpected and very moving gesture. This has not happened to me anywhere else in the world. The breakfast does not include any cooked components except soft boiled eggs, which are excellent in terms of taste and texture. The breads are also fresh and of high quality - apparently from a warranted Royal supplier. The jugs of coffee supplied were fine but could have been a little stronger.
Coffee and Danish pastries are available free to residents in the breakfast room throughout the day, a nice touch. 
Given our small son we did not use public transport, either walking or using taxis, which Reception ordered online and which arrived unfailingly within minutes. Outstandingly fast in fact. We were using them out of rush hour and were told the response time was not surprisingly slower during those times. Staff were always very helpful, 
Overall an excellent stay and a highly recommended hotel.

"Great location and amenities"

February 15th 2018, Caroline S, Sussex, Great Britain
Lovely welcoming staff. The hotel has a very good location for transport, excursions, shopping and eating. As a guest you can return in the afternoon for free coffee and cake after excursions to refuel.

My room was quiet and everything in working order. I'd recommend it for anyone apart from rowdy groups, it does not have that feel to it. It's a family run business and I always like to support those.

"Nice place to stay, but beds need to be renewed"

February 14th 2018, kath644, Belgium
The hotel is a nice place to stay and located very centra. There are two parking lots around the corner (not included in the price), friendly staff and good breakfast with a lot things to choose from.

BUT ... the quality of the bed is very poor. The mattresses were really worn out. You can just feel the springs. The bathroom is somewhat old fashioned, but it's clean.

"Good location, nice staff, breakfast and rooms."

February 11th 2018, ceciliae349, Sweden
Clean room, with nice furniture and soft pillows. Silent, but still you are in the middle of Copenhagen!

You can walk to the best places in town, and when you get tired go back to the hotel and take a coffee or tea together with a danish in the foaje.

"Good accommodation in the heart of Copenhagen."

February 9th 2018, John Z, Genève, Schweiz
Friendly staff. Great location. I was here on a business trip. The room was small and a bit cramped but clean and with a good bed.

The breakfast buffet was good. If you are happy with a simple place, this hotel is a good fit.

"Cozy hotel with the perfect location"

January 21st 2018, Helga H, Iceland
This hotel is quite small but cozy and comfortable for a very reasonable prize. Perfect location; practically "everything" is within a walking distance. Surrounding is quiet.

The bed was comfortable and we slept like babies. Will definitely choose this one again on our next trip to lovely Copenhagen.

"Comfortable, Clean, great Buffet Breakfast & Excellent Location"

January 3rd 2018, EDWARDL782, Florida, United States
This is not an expensive hotel, but it is comfortable, room size is good, bed is good, buffet breakfast is great and it is within walking distance of a lot of Copenhagen.

Being right across the street from the Rosenborg Slot, we hiked in the gardens and visited the residence the first day.
The harbor is perhaps 1.5 miles away, a nice walk after breakfast !
Tivoli Gardens is 3 kilometers away, another nice hike.
The staff of the hotel were always friendly, and acquired a taxi for us when we departed for Norway.
Not sure about parking here, we did not have a rental vehicle, so not sure where customers park.
When you consider that many Copenhagen hotels are quite expensive, we were very happy with our stay here!

"Perfect Location"

December 29th 2017, R B, New York, United States
This hotel is perfectly located next to King's Garden and in a beautiful and quiet part of central Copenhagen. Since this was the first hotel I stayed in in the city, I got a very good impression of Copenhagen. It is a small family-run hotel with a cozy atmosphere.

The rooms are basic, but provide everything you need. The breakfast that comes with the room is amazing, and the bread is the best I have ever had. They even throw in some schnapps. An evening snack is also provided and very welcome after a long day of walking. The staff is so nice and helpful. It takes you about 10 minutes to walk to the Kongens metro stop, and the street the hotel is on has several good restaurants. When I return to Copenhagen, I will not stay anywhere else.

"Great place to stay when visiting Copenhagen"

December 25th 2017, Robert K, Virginia, United States
The hotel is a bit small but very comfortable. Located on a quiet side street, it is about a 20 minute walk to the center of the city and lots of shopping. Located close to various museums and the metro, this is the perfect place to stay at when planning a sight seeing vacation.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and the staff is quite friendly and provide excellent service. They go the extra mile for you to ensure your stay is enjoyable.

"Excellent choice when visiting Denmark!"

December 18th 2017, driftoner
The hotel was excellent. Great location and extremely helpful staff. I traveled alone and stayed in a small double room, which while tiny was very well appointed and had all I could need.

Closet space was great and nook under bed was perfect for storing luggage out of the way. Bed and pillows were comfortable. Bathroom was great - nice large shower. And breakfast was just fantastic. So many choices, so beautifully presented. Always well stocked, even at 9:45 am (when it closes at 10:00). And I can't say how much I enjoyed coming back during the day or at night and being chilled and always having hot tea (or coffee) available to warm me up. Front desk staff were extremely gracious and helpful with any questions or requests. Thank you for making my stay in Copenhagen so enjoyable!

"Great service"

December 14th 2017, Raymond A
Very helpful,Great service,central to everything. Easy going overall. Everyone speaks English without being asked. I recommend a stay at this small unassuming hotel to anyone.

Weezie was the best in the mornings for a smile and starting your day off on the brighter side. Steefen was the most helpful and could hold a conversation beyond the basics. Great hotel for all.

"Good base for exploring the city"

December 4th 2017, Richard W, Ediburgh, Great Britain
We stayed here recently. The hotel is relatively small and is located in a quiet street about 10 minutes walk from the Metro, Nyhavn and Stroget. We had a decent sized room, including a desk/chair and two easy chairs.

There is no tea/coffee making equipment in the room, but complementary tea, coffee, juice and pastries are available all day on the ground floor. A continental breakfast with a good selection is included in the price. The free wi-fi gave a strong signal, and the staff were all very friendly and efficient.

"Great place to stay"

December 3rd 2017, Vind E
When in Copenhagen this is a great place to stay. It is not a five star hotel, and the rooms are pretty simple. But the price is reasonable, the staff is very nice and the breakfast is great.

And it is situated just near by one of the greatest attractions in The King’s city, the Rosenborg palace.

"Perfect for our needs"

November 26st 2017, janey078, Ireland
Stayed in a triple room which although basic, had enough space and the bathroom had a great shower with lots of hot water.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast had a great selection and some fabulous breads and pastries.
The complimentary tea/coffee and pastries throughout the day were a lovely touch and saved a lot of money if you’re on a budget. Would happily stay here again on my next trip to Copenhagen.

"Good enough basic hotel"

November 21st 2017, MusicLovingCouple, Great Britain
We just returned from a 2 night stay, and although familiar with Copenhagen had not stayed here before. We'd be happy to stay again too, if on a budget or in a 'practical' frame of mind, since the place is pretty basic.

However, the staff were helpful and smiley, the breakfast was adequate, the room clean and bathroom, though small and clinical, was also clean, with a decent shower.
Our street facing room had a bit of noise on Saturday night, but since we always travel with ear plugs this was manageable. It's a brisk 10 minute walk to the beginning of the touristy areas, and not on a 'party' street.
This is not a romantic hotel but within its price range range I suspect a pretty good option for this pricey city.

"Would most definitely stay again"

November 7th 2017, David W
The hotel was very comfortable and well-maintained. Complimentary breakfast was excellent. The staff was friendly and fluent in English. Located on a quiet street off the King's Gardens walkable to many sites.

The room was small by USA standards, but locals told me this was typical of Danish hotels. Total space including bathroom was about 25 square meters or about 200 square feet. My room looked like what was shown online. Wifi is not encrypted.

"Perfect, small and nice hotel"

November 5th 2017, Arne_Ryppen, Norway
My wife and I stayed at this hotel over a weekend and it was perfect for us. Nice staff and room and very central but at the same time very quiet.

Breakfast was simple but contained what we needed. Our room was at the back side of the hotel and as a superior room it was quite roomy.

"Great location with friendly staff and plentiful breakfast!"

November 2nd 2017, Kentcomments, Wisconsin, United States
We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Christian IV. Great location close to attractions and restaurants in a quiet neighborhood. We definitely recommend it. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

The accommodations were comfortable and clean. The breakfast was wonderful. Great stay!

"Four Comfortable Nights"

October 30th 2017, windsorwand31, Halifax, Canada
The hotel was recommended by friends who had stayed here previously. The location was excellent for exploring the city on foot.

Our room on the 4th floor was clean and comfortable. We had one desk chair and one comfortable sitting chair. I found the lighting to be a little dim for reading in the evening. The wifi was excellent ( and part of the room rate) . The bathroom was a good size with nice thick towels. 
The staff at reception and in the breakfast room were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. It was lovely to return after a day’s exploring to tea, coffee, biscuits, Danish in the breakfast room/ lounge area.

"Convenient Location"

October 24th 2017, RealtD, California, United States
Location of the hotel is very good for walking to most of the sights in this lovely City. Breakfast was excellent with coffee, water, cookies available throughout the day. Very helpful staff.

Recommend reserving a room at the rear of the hotel facing the courtyard. We experienced some street noise from our room in the front of the hotel.

"Fantastic staff at this hotel, ideal location for a family"

October 14th 2017, Martin S, Bergen, Norway
We booked this hotel primarily for the location, and it ended up being exactly what we needed.

Not fancy or modern, but perfect for us (two adults and a baby). The front desk staff helped us choose a different crib for the baby, and the two breakfast servers were wonderful to us, even offering to play with our son and keep him entertained so we could quickly get a bite to eat! We felt so welcome there and would happily return.

"Quiet Location near the Rosenborg Palace and park"

October 8th 2017, ChrisDeng, New Jersey, United States
Friendly and informative staff. Very accommodating. Recommendations for restaurants, mass transit and sites were all perfect.

We had a room on the third floor facing the courtyard and it was very quiet. The mattress could have been more comfortable, but for a few nights, not that bad. They have coffee/tea, cookies and deserts available all day, and we even brought back a salad from a local grocery store and ate in the dining room. Breakfast only had hard boiled eggs, nothing else hot/warm. 
The machines for the tickets for mass transit are not as convenient as other European cities, but the trains and buses are up to the usual European standards. 7-11 seems to sell tickets in every country in Scandinavia.

"Great position and service"

October 7th 2017, PeterTerk, Perth, Australia
Stayed at this hotel for a couple of days. Location is perfect for reaching various places in city centre. Service at check-in and throughout was perfect as well.

Room has complementary breakfast, tea and coffee (Including juice and Danish available all day).
Besides this there is complementary Wifi.
Room was nicely sized and everything worked.

"Lovely Stay!"

October 5th 2017, Lee M
This hotel was wonderful from our room to the service to the food. The atmosphere is boutique, warm and friendly and it's centrally located so it was easy to walk everywhere and trains to and from the airport.

Highly recommend!

"Good Location for the right price"

October 4th 2017, JPete273, California, United States
This is a great hotel and not too far from everything. It is small and older but very clean. It has charm.

We are in our 60's and walked all over Copenhagen. The fact that this hotel was a little further away from the center of sites didn't slow us down. Nice staff and helpful. Quiet room. Good breakfast. Cookies/danish coffee tea available during the day.

"Excellent welcome front desk staff"

October 4th 2017, Juste1, Montreal, Canada
This hotel is located inthe center of the city where most attarction can be reached by foot. The staff atbthe front desk is excellent as well.

The breakfast was one of the best I have had while travelling in Europe. If you need to get tomte airport after yoirvstay, a metromstation is only a short 8 minutes walk and the ride is less then 30 minute, no need to take a taxi.

"Sweet little hotel in centre of Copenhagen"

September 29th 2017, scoutleader12015, Auckland, New Zealand
We spent 5 nights at the Hotel Christian Iv in September 2017 while in town for a conference. Location was perfect, a pleasant stroll to the Kongens Nyrtov metro station and an easy walk to the Kings Garden, Nyhaven, and many of the other attractions of Copenhagen.

The hotel is not new and is showing a few signs of wear but is clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and fresh tasty food. Coffee, tea, pastries and fruits are available free at all hours, a real bonus in an expensive Scandinavian city. Best of all were the staff, always friendly and helpful, one lady to time out from her duties to help us book the train on to Stockholm. Definitely recommended.

"Everything within walking distance."

September 28th 2017, Anna03972, Perth, Australien
Quaint hotel in ideal location, everything within easy walking distance, also have available for hire bycicle for the more adventurous.

Free coffee or tea all day for guests, no in room facilities or fridge.

"Excellent location"

September 25th 2017, grovekitten, Great Britain
Although the room décor is a little bit tired, that's about the only negative comment I'd have about this hotel. The staff are friendly and efficient, offering first class advice re restaurants and sightseeing.

The location is brilliant: within easy walking distance of all major sights and attractions. The breakfast is varied, fresh and plentiful and the "on tap" tea, coffee and hot chocolate available day and night is an added bonus. The rooms are spotlessly clean with good showers. The room rate is reasonable for Copenhagen. Would thoroughly recommend and hope to return.

"Reasonable choice"

September 13th 2017, Vladimir B, Tula, Russia
It's a great place to stay for good value for money. Close to the most CPH sightseeings and Kongens Nytorv metro station.

Helpful staff, useful lounge with coffee and juice. Another extra option is a wc at the first floor. The district is quite silent.

"Great choice in Copenhagen"

September 12th 2017, LM4U2, Utah, United States
True - its so hard to find reasonable accommodation in Copenhagen. This place was a better value than most, and very charming and comfortable.

The proximity is excellent to get to the cruise ships and about a $50 taxi from the airport. The rooms are cozy but roomy. The upper floor has dormer that let in light, but you can shut the blind as well if you need to sleep. Breakfast was spectacular with lots of cute places to sit. They have an elevator, and you can store your luggage. Front desk was friendly. Totally with walking distance of Nyhavn: on the canal with tons of great restaurants, ice cream, crafts, and stalls. I would highly recommend this hotel and location.

"Stay here."

September 10th 2017, Diane K, Wellington, New Zealand
A wonderfully charming and well located hotel that is value for money. Just stay here. Don't look further. Restaurants, museums, parks, metro, palaces are all close.

The staff are friendly. The breakfast is excellent. The hotel is very clean. The rooms are a good size. Stay here.

"Cute boutique hotel"

August 24th 2017, Totoro222, New York, United States
Not too far from Kongens Have, one of the most beautiful parks in Copenhagen, and Rosenborg Slot, Hotel Christian IV is a decently priced, cute but small hotel not too far from the centre of Copenhagen.

The rooms and bathrooms (no baths) are on the smaller, no frills side; and the hotel itself could probably use a couple of interior upgrades. However, the staff was extraordinarily helpful and friendly. The breakfast and tea room were pleasant to eat and recuperate in.
Note that the street can get a little noisy before sunrise, with passing trucks. Closing the windows then drowns out most of the sound. Otherwise it's a very quiet street.

"Pre-cruise stay"

August 20th 2017, Lynne M, United States
Lovely small hotel in a quiet area. Breakfast was spectacular!!! Fresh fruit, sliced meats and cheeses, cereals and yogurt and an assortment of fresh breads. Very helpful staff.

Suggested place for dinner that was wonderful. Small but very comfortable room. Would stay again in a minute.

"Fantastic hotel in the heart of Copenhagen"

August 19th 2017, MR_n_Houston, Texas, United States
Perfectly situated less than one block from the Kongens Have (King's Garden) and Rosenborg Slot (Rosenborg Castle), and walking distance to many sites such as the Amalienborg (Queen's Residence), Kongens Nytorv (King's New Square),

Trinitatis Kirke (Trinitatis Church), Det Kongelige Teater (Royal Danish Theatre); the many restaurants lining the Nyhavn (New Harbor);and, perhaps with a quick rest-stop at a cafe, the Kastellet military fortress and Edvard Eriksen's Den Lille Havfrue (The Little Mermaid).

"Great smaller hotel near to the Park"

August 16th 2017, Sara08122000, Worcester, Great Britain
Quiet independent hotel within an easy walking distance of the main sites and public transport. Breakfast was great; continental and lots of choice. All staff were very helpful at all times.

We took ice up to the room for our G & T's, extra glasses and plates when having snacks...this was no problem. There is no restaurant on site. Room clean. One lift which was small, so you sometimes needed to wait, but it wasn't a problem. Bathrooms are perhaps not as modern or big as some hotels, but they were clean and there was no problem. Would definitely stay again. Thank you for a lovely stay.

"Perfect location, nice breakfast"

August 14th 2017, h0mefree2, Florida, United States
We were thrilled at the great location, just steps from the Rosenborg Palace. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet includes meats, cheese, pate, large assortment of breads and, of course, Danishes.

There were hard boiled eggs, tomatoes, cucumbers, yogurts, lots of cereals and grains. Plus a 24 hour tea and coffee service (with cookies) available in the restaurant/lobby area all free of charge. The rooms are nice sized and clean, but dated (hence the 4 instead of 5 star rating). All in all a great place to stay and we would return.

"Perfect Stay in Copenhagen"

August 12th 2017, J B, United States
Hotel Christian IV was the perfect place for our 4 night stay in Copenhagen. Our Classic Double Room was just right for two people and overlooked a lovely courtyard.

The breakfast was a delight with many local specialties available. The afternoon/evening complementary coffee and tea became part of our evening ritual as we returned to the hotel and sat down to plan our next day's outing. The front desk staff was courteous and friendly. The room was comfortable and clean. The location was close to several bus stops and an easy walk to the train and metro stations. I would stay here again.

"Great little gem in Copenhagen"

August 7th 2017, NLW731, Illinois, United States
We went to visit our son and chose the hotel by location to his apartment. It is a small hotel that made us feel we were having a true Copenhagen experience.

It is walking distance from the major sites and good restaurants and shopping. 
The staff was very helpful with directions and tips for traveling. The only thing to be aware of is despite being on a relatively quiet street the nightlife spilled over so we found that closing our windows at night provided a quiet nights sleep. 
The breakfast provided was large and having the coffee and cookies available throughout the day was a treat.

"Amazing stay!"

August 3rd 2017, Eva S, Barcelona, Spain
Except the weather, our stay in Copenhagen was a great experience. The people was very nice. The city is amazing.

The colour, the castles and...the food (salmon, vegetables...) I wish return! See you soon!

"Copenhagen Trip"

August 3rd 2017, irma z, Toronto, Canada
We had enjoyed our stay at Hotel Christian IV as service is personalized and all the staff are accommodating, friendly and pleasant.

Breakfast is good, lots of food choices and staff always check/refill buffet table. Room is small but bed is comfortable. I will definitely stay here again when I get a chance to visit Copenhagen again.

"Just fine. Good location"

August 2nd 2017, Sveos, Västerås, Sweden
We stayed here two nights in July as a family of four. The fold-out bed was a little too small, but besides that we were happy with our stay. Room was clean and staff was good.

Breakfast area gets a little crowded in the mornings, but there's free coffee and pastry/cookies available 24/7. No warm breakfast, but an OK selection anyway. Hotel was easy to find by car and location was good. Just a few block walk to Nyhavn and next door to Kongens Have and Rosenborg Castle. Parking was quite expensive, though, despite the discount..

"Vintage hotel, beautiful staff"

July 30th 2017, BeautifulSoul1948, London, Great Britain
My partner booked this hotel but I arrived a day earlier as we we were celebrating his birthday whilst in Copenhagen.

The staff helped me surprise him from calls I made whilst in the U.K. and referred me to a lovely cake shop for my partner's cake. On the day, staff were amazing in keeping what I had planned, a secret and arranged a beautiful fruit platter to bring to our room at midnight. So thank you staff for being amazing, very helpful and welcoming. Loved this hotel due to its vintage feel and everything you need is walking distance. Sorry we didn't tidy up before leaving. We were rushing to get our flight. Felt so bad leaving the room in the state we did as we don't usually do that. Thank you.

"Quiet location by the Royal Park"

July 29th 2017, smithnz, Christchurch, New Zealand
The staff were friendly and much to our surprise had a room available when we arrived at 8.00am. This was much appreciated. The taxi to the airport worked out better than expected.

It cost us 270kroner and that was at 8.15am on a Friday morning. It is certainly much more convenient than having to walk to the metro and travelling that way. It is an easy walk to restaurants which are 2 blocks away though there are some others nearby . The restaurant next door was closed due to holidays. We did try the Orangerie in the Park and enjoyed it though it is not cheap and leisurely. It is Danish cuisine and lunch is recommended. The hop on/hop off bus stops are not real close. One is on the opposite side of the Rosenberg castle entrance (it's a beautiful walk through the park) and the other is by the Admiral Hotel (by the taxi sign). We planned our sightseeing around these two stops . Eg. We did the marble church and palace en route to Admiral hotel stop and the castle to the Rosenberg stop. The hotel has bikes available and there are car park buildings close by. The room was clean and the shower good, however the bed was not to our liking being way to soft . The breakfast was what you would expect, though it does get full around 8.30am.

"Good choice in Copenhagen"

July 25th 2017, mpm1, New York, United States
This is a very good hotel with a good price in a very, very pricey city. It is clean, safe, comfortable and quiet for a good night's rest.

The location is good, close to subway to airport (easy ride) and some palaces, but a little bit of a longer walk to the central area. It is a good 25 minute walk to Tivoli--and that was at 10:30pm with little pedestrian traffic and no lingering. It is not a 5-star resort. However, it very much reflects the Danish style and outlook. What does set it apart and above, is the lovely breakfast and breakfast room. We arrived tired and how lovely it was to find hot drinks and cake and cookies seemingly just waiting for us! It is a very relaxing place in general. We enjoyed bringing our own snacks and unwinding there as well. And the breakfast is superb--so much to choose from and so delicious. A good send off to start your day. Sure our room was tiny, but perfectly comfy (and, again, clean!) and cozy and cute. And there's an elevator! We used tripadvisor to find this hotel and so we want others to know it is a good choice for your stay in Copenhagen.

"Clean & neat, great location"

July 16th 2017, Bruno S, Sydney, Australia
We stayed at this hotel for one night / day before our cruise. The hotel is in a great location within walking distance to many of the tourist attractions.

The breakfast included with the room is more that satisfactory. The rooms are not overly large (to be expected in European capital cities), however they are clean and tidy. Would stay here again without reservation. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for a pre or post cruises place to stay for a few days. The staff are very welcoming and happy to answer any questions you may have on anything from tourist attractions to public transport options. Overall a great place to stay.

"Lovely hotel near King's Garden"

July 13th 2017, finoaqc, Quebec, Canada
I loved this hotel! Rooms are teeny tiny (typical European) but comfortable (I had a "Small Double"), quiet and bright.

 It was a bit tricky doing my yoga in the mornings - had to move some furniture around ;) Slept very well with windows open in June. Breakfast was pretty much the same each day - but very good, with cold cuts, veggies, hard boiled eggs, bread and pastries, fruit and yogurt and good supply of coffee. There was coffee/tea, cold water, biscuits and fruit out all day. Breakfast room was nice overlooking the quiet street. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great location! I walked easily from the hotel to every site in the city and walked to the metro where you can catch a train direct to the airport. I had only a carry on suitcase and backpack; it might be tricky if you had a lot of luggage.

"Excellent service, great location"

July 11th 2017, Mark R, Castaic, USA
The thing that first attracted us to this hotel was its central location, which is fantastic. You are within walking distance of the major sights and two Metro stations.

But the service at the hotel and warm, friendly staff were also fantastic and I would definitely recommend a stay here. Free Wifi at a good speed and a great breakfast added to an excellent experience in the best style of privately run hotels.

"Great location, value, WiFi"

July 9th 2017, 4ontheroadMD, United States
It's easy to walk around the city from this hotel and unlike most places in Copenhagen, the place is easy on the wallet.

Our room had two big windows which opened to let in the fresh air. And while I would not call the room charming, it was certainly functional and comfortable. And it was one of the few European hotels we were in with strong wifi so I could use my US phone without incurring roaming charges. Staff was helpful and the free breakfast was excellent. Just a great value for the money. I would definitely consider staying there again.

"Good Location and value"

July 8th 2017, Julia B, North Carolina, United States
I booked this hotel for reasons others have stated and the rest of our group did also. The location is excellent and price good.

The rooms are basic, but adequate. The bath was a bit problematic with the sink in the shower area, so the floor needed to be squeegeed after a shower. We were on top floor and at the back, so noise was not a problem. The breakfast room is nicely laid out with an assortment of good food. There is a lounge next to it with a couple more tables and a section for visiting. The staff was pleasant and accommodated us for leaving luggage when we arrived on an early morning flight. I emailed them for information from home and someone always answered in less than 12 hours.

"Wonderful stay at central Copenhagen"

July 3rd 2017, PaulalovesPortland, Oregon, United States
Great location with neighborhood feel. Only 1 block from Christian IV Palace and several blocks from Nyhavn.

Our room was a good size for three people and the bathroom was adequate. The complimentary breakfast was varied and delicious and we were able to use the dining room to bring back food during other meal times. Staff was very helpful with the requests that we had during our stay. There is street noise, but Copenhagen is a busy city and is to be expected.

"Cosy and Traditional place"

June 27th  2017, Tora_Chaudhuri, India
We decided to stay here going by Tripadvisor reviews because of the location and the price because Copenhagen is one of the costliest cities we have been to. 

Kongens Nytorv metro stop is about 15 mins ride from the airport and 10 mins walk from the hotel.Tourist attractions like Nyhavn, Rosenborg Palace,Stroget shopping mile,Amalienborg Palace,Frederikskirke are all a few minutes walk away.Located in a quiet neighbourhood, this cosy place with it's traditional decor made our stay pleasant.Pia at the front desk was very helpful. Breakfast ,included in the room rate was awesome...fresh bread,boiled eggs,cereals,fruits,juices and last but not the least the melt in the mouth Danish pastries.Tea and coffee along with cookies and pastries are available all day in the lobby.Wifi was good,they also have a computer in the lobby which can be used.Room was spacious for our family of three.There are a few good eateries at stone's throw and a supermarket too.We had a cruise to Oslo and to reach the port we took bus no.26 which stops at a 5mins walk from the hotel which again was very convinient.Very happy with the stay and would definitely stay here again.